Top News

Astros win Beaumont-Hamel Centennial Cup

The Ascension Collegiate Astros from Bay Roberts slipped past the Queen Elizabeth Pioneers from Conception Bay South 3-2 Sunday to win the 2017 Royal Newfoundland Regiment Memorial high school hockey tournament and the Beaumont-Hamel Centennial Cup.

Beaumont-Hamel Centennial Cup

It’s the second year for the event, which honours the Royal Newfoundland Regiment soldiers during the First World War.

More than 350 high school students and coaches from Corner Brook, Marystown, Carbonear, Bay Roberts, Conception Bay South, Mount Pearl and St. John’s competed in the tournament held at the Paradise Double Ice Complex.

Following a scoreless opening period in the final, Ascension’s Michael Hopkins and Devin Foote of Queen Elizabeth traded second-period goals. Dominic Nugent put the Pioneers ahead 2-1 16 seconds into the final period of play, but the Astros’ Kyle Petten, with the game-tying goal, and Mark Barrett, with the winner, sealed it for Ascension Collegiate.

In semifinal play, the Astros beat Holy Heart of Mary Highlanders of St. John’s 4-3, while the Pioneers downed Mount Pearl’s O’Donel Patriots 5-1.


Tournament Awards

Tournament Builder Award (Lieutenant-Colonel Thomas Nangle Award): Paradise mayor Dan Bobbett

Team Spirit Award (named in honour of the Battle of Gallipoli): Marystown Clippers

Leadership in Coaching Award (Major Bertram Butler Award): Bill Maher, Holy Heart Highlanders

Excellence in Officiating Award (Lieutenant Walter Greene Award): Anthony Sears

Lance-Corporal Martin P. Kent Award (memorial fund bursary): Eric Power of Marystown Clippers

Sportsmanship Award (named in honour of Captain J. J. O’Grady): Mark Lushmar of Waterford Valley Warriors

Top Goalie Award (Lieutenant Lionel Dooley Award): Tyrus Fagan of Queen Elizabeth Pioneers

Recent Stories