Lake Melville minor hockey enjoys ‘Xtreme’ success

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

No banners this past season, but plenty of enthusiasm, spirit

Some of the presenters and award winners from a recent year-end banquet hosted Lake Melville Xtreme minor hockey include, from left, Michael Horwood, Anna Hutchings, Brittany Patey, Kristopher Kavanagh, Hooker Broomfield, Michael White, Bradley Elsworth, Kate Callahan and Kensley Callahan.

The 2013-14 hockey season came to a successful conclusion for players, coaches, parents and other supporters of Lake Melville Xtreme minor during a well-attended banquet on May 11.

Organizers say just about all of the 260 players registered this past season attended the year-end event, which was held at the Royal Canadian Legion and carved up into three separate gatherings, shining a spotlight on seven divisions of play.

All three gatherings were highlighted by the handing out of a long list of trophies, prizes and other awards. Every player received a trophy, but awards of appreciation were also presented to referees and coaches.

The association sent teams to compete at provincial Easter tournaments in every division from atom to midget. Though there were no championship banners returned to the Big Land, the female (silver) team and the atom squad (bronze) came away with medals.

Executive member Gail Hughes attributed the success, both on and off the ice, to the many volunteers who give so freely of their time and talents.

“The future looks good,” Hughes said.

“We hope for continued growth and we hope to have more opportunities for local players and the coaches.”

This past year’s executive committee included the following: Shawn Brown, (president), Keith Leonard, Gary Dove, Tash Canning, Catriona Horwood, Dawn Goudie, Lisa Hutchings, Terry Hutchings, Corey Elsen, Heather Cabot, Paul Sharpe, Dawn Groves, Trina Coles, Debbie Hynes and Coleen Baikie.

The following, meanwhile, is a breakdown of the award recipients:


Atom division

Team Blue:

• Most dedicated — Patrick Kennedy;

• Most sportsminded — Daimon MacAulay;

• Most improved — Jonah Snook.

Team Red:

• Most dedicated — Shawn Simms;

• Most sportsminded — Madison Winters;

• Most improved — Logan Lyall.


• Chip Nardini Award — Ethan Alexander

Note: this award is presented to a player who excels in sportsmanship and hard work, is a team leader, and loves playing hockey.


• Derek Bessey Award — Ryan Turner 

Note: known as the “Dear Little Devil” award, it is presented to a player who is mischievous and well-liked by his/her fellow players and coaches.


Peewee division

Team United:

• Most dedicated — Brady Coles;

• Most sportsminded — Liam Watts;

• Most improved — Joey Cabot.



Team Irving:

• Most dedicated — Shannon Penney;

• Most sportsminded — Juanasi White;

• Most improved — Jenna Turner.


Team Envirosafe:

• Most dedicated — David Roberts;

• Most sportsminded — Mackenzie Horwood;

• Most improved — Jordan Michelin.


• Ashley Holwell Award — Evan Purchase 

Note: awarded to someone who enjoys hockey, who shows up to play and have a good time. 


• Winston Lawrence Award — Stephen Ford 

Note: awarded in honour of Winston Lawrence, a coach who loved hockey for what it is, and loved to play the game. He believed in fair play and being a team player. The award is presented to an individual who demonstrates commitment, good attitude and sportsmanship, both on and off the ice.



Female division

Team Hotel North:

• Most dedicated — MacKenzie Penney;

• Most sportsminded — Rachel Pike;

• Most improved — Rebecca Way.


Team BMO:

• Most dedicated — Laura Baikie;

• Most sportsminded — Misty Dawn Dyson;

• Most improved — Lauren Pye.


Team RNR:

• Most dedicated — Julia Hutchings;

• Most sportsminded — Claire Colbourne;

• Most improved — Katlyn Winters.


• Steve Ramey Award — Anna Hutchings

Note: presented in memory of Steve Ramey to an individual who demonstrates noticeable hockey growth and is most dedicated and contributes to the growth of the sport by helping younger players. This individual is a real ambassador of the game and a strong supporter of the sport and the association.



Bantam division

Team Scotiabank:

• Most dedicated — Camille Marcoux;

• Most sportsminded — Nick Battcock;

• Most improved — Bailey Dooley.


Team Ultramar:

• Most dedicated — Matt Sharpe;

• Most sportsminded — Eric Winacott;

• Most improved — Timothy Goudie.


• Sheldon Kavanagh Award — Michael Horwood

Note: awarded to a player well-like by his/her teammates, never complains and is dedicated to the team.



Midget division

Team Warrs:

• Most dedicated — Ben Roberts;

• Most sportsminded — William Forsey;

• Most improved — Ian Winsor.


Team Hydro:

• Most dedicated — Cody Normore;

• Most sportsminded — Aaron Mills;

• Most improved — Jacob McClean.


Team Remax:

• Most dedicated — Lucas Compton;

• Most sportsminded — Garrett Chaulk;

• Most improved — Harry Lucci.


• E.J. Broomfield Award — Michael White

Note: presented to someone who excels in fundraising.


• Scott Callahan Award — Bradley Ellsworth 

Note: presented in honour of Scott Callahan to an individual who demonstrates noticeable hockey growth in his/her midget years, is coachable, and offers much respect for his peers and referees.

Organizations: Royal Canadian Legion, Scotiabank

Geographic location: Lake Melville

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page