Quebec Gold

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Labrador Midget team captures Canadian Cup in Montreal

The Labrador Woodward’s Selects won the Canadian Cup International Hockey Tournament, held in Montreal, QC, March 14-16. The team members include: front (l-r)—Chris O’Dell and Nick Robinson; middle—Bradley Ellsworth, Ryan Bent, Matthew Patey, and Adam Anderson; back—Dave White (coach), Tyler Hynes, Michael White, Andrew Tee, Leo Ford, Garrett Chaulk, Bradley Robinson, Nick Taylor, Cody Normore, Dominic Mullaly, Ben Roberts, Grant Patey (coach), Myron Roberts (coach), and Arnold Kelly (Coach)

The Labrador Woodward's Selects, comprised of 16 midget-aged hockey players from the Lake Melville Xtreme Minor Hockey Association in central Labrador, recently captured Gold at the Canadian Cup International Hockey Tournament, held in Montreal, QC, March 14-16.

The team went undefeated through the round robin portion of the tournament with two wins and a tie, before defeating the Oro Thunder from Northern Ontario 6-1 in the final to capture the championship.

 Leo Ford led the way for The Selects in the championship game with two goals, while Ben Roberts, Brad Ellsworth, Andrew Tee and Tournament MVP Brad Robinson, scored one each

Nick Robinson was in goal for The Selects, allowing only one goal on 27 shots and was named Player of the Game for the Labrador team.

 In the first game of the tournament, The Selects tied the Binghamton Badgers from New York State 1-1. Nick Taylor scored the lone goal for the Selects, with Chris O'Dell having a standout performance in the net, stopping 30 of 31 shots directed his way. Taylor who played a strong two way game was selected as The Selects’ player of the game.

 Game two saw the Selects defeat the South Stormont Selects, a team from the Long Sault Ont, 4-3, in a hard fought physical affair. Taylor potted two more goals. Ellsworth and Ford each scored a goal, while Robinson chipped in with a pair of assists. Ford with his one goal and tenacious play earned himself Player of the Game rights for this round robin matchup, while Nick Robinson was solid in the net, backstopping The Selects to their first round robin win.

In game three, The Selects faced off against the Oro Thunder, the team they would meet in the final.  The Selects’ Brad Robinson scored all four goals in the team's 4-1 victory, a win that would guarantee the team a berth in the gold medal game. O'Dell was again superb in the net backstopping The Selects to their second victory of the tournament. Robinson was named Player of the Game.

 The Selects would like to thank everyone who helped support them, especially Woodward Group for sponsoring this year’s team. Members of the winning team are Chris O'Dell, Nick Robinson, Brad Robinson, Bradley Ellsworth, Ben Roberts, Matt Patey, Garrett Chaulk, Nick Taylor, Andrew Tee, Leo Ford, Adam Anderson, Cody Normore, Rylan Bent, Dominic Mullaly, Tyler Hynes, Michael White and the Coaching Staff Arnold Kelly, Grant Patey, Myron Roberts, Dave White, Sponsor, Mel Woodward and Director of Operations Liz Battcock.


Organizations: Lake Melville Xtreme Minor Hockey Association

Geographic location: Labrador, Quebec, Montreal New York State

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page